Chakras, Yoga, Meditation, and Healthy Living Research Paper

Pages: 3 (883 words)  ·  Bibliography Sources: 3  ·  File: .docx  ·  Topic: Sports

¶ … Life of a Yogi: Research Outline


Surya is Sanskrit for the Sun or the Sun God

Sometimes Surya is "depicted as a red man with three eyes and four arms, riding in a chariot drawn by seven mares," and usually with lotus flowers in each palm ("Surya").

Because of the importance of the sun to all living creatures, Surya is an important figure, energy, and motif

A hatha yoga exercise known as surya namaskar is one that directly honors the sun. Surya namaskar means "sun salutation," and is a commonly used series of poses in yoga.

The Seven Chakras

Chakra literally translates to "wheel," and refers to wheel-like energy centers in the body

There are seven main chakras in the body

Each chakra is a "a swirling wheel of energy where matter and consciousness meet," (Fondin).

The energy flowing through the body is prana

When there is a block or imbalance in a chakra, there can be emotional, mental, or physical issues

The Sanskrit names of the seven chakras include:

Muladara (root) pertains to issues related to grounding and security, corresponding also to problems like constipation

Svadhisthana (sacral) pertains to issues related to sexuality and reproduction, as well as creative expression

Download full Download Microsoft Word File
paper NOW!
Manipura (solar plexus) pertains to ego development, personality, and healthy self-expression, as well as issues related to courage and confidence

Anahata (heart) pertains to all matters of love, including friendships, romance, and spiritual love. Health issues related to the heart would be related to heart chakra as well.

Vishuddha (throat) pertains to issues related to communication and open-mindedness

Ajna (third eye) pertains to intuition and psychic energy

Sahaswara (crown) is the link between the consciousness of pure spirit/God and the human being. It is the transcendental chakra.

TOPIC: Research Paper on Chakras, Yoga, Meditation, and Healthy Living Assignment

Foods for Chakras

Root -- protein, esp animal, root vegetables, mushrooms, red food (Minich)

Sacral -- fat, oil, salmon, tropical fruits, seeds, nuts, orange food (Minich)

Solar Plexus -- whole grains, legumes, yellow food

Heart -- Leafy green food, raw foods esp green

Throat -- soups, sauces, and variety of ethnic food (Minich)

Third eye -- Caffeine, tea, coffee, wine, and indigo food like blueberry, etc. (Minich)

Crown -- no food (sunlight, air, love)

Chakras and Anxiety

Although anxiety may reflect an imbalance in any of the seven chakras, it is primarily in the lower three chakras (Muladara, Svadhisthana, Manipura) that anxiety is felt.

Anxiety can be related to a feeling of insecurity, which would be linked to a blockage or imbalance in the root chakra. To minimize anxiety related to root chakra imbalance, one can focus on developing a sense of security.

Some anxiety may be related to relationships… [END OF PREVIEW] . . . READ MORE

Two Ordering Options:

Which Option Should I Choose?
1.  Download full paper (3 pages)Download Microsoft Word File

Download the perfectly formatted MS Word file!

- or -

2.  Write a NEW paper for me!✍🏻

We'll follow your exact instructions!
Chat with the writer 24/7.

Healthy Diet Habits: Lifetime Importance Essay

Yoga Classical Yoga, the Yoga of Patanjali Term Paper

Meditation in Healthcare Term Paper

Meditation These Three Buddhist Texts Illustrate Term Paper

Meditation: Theory and Practice Reflections Term Paper

View 200+ other related papers  >>

How to Cite "Chakras, Yoga, Meditation, and Healthy Living" Research Paper in a Bibliography:

APA Style

Chakras, Yoga, Meditation, and Healthy Living.  (2015, May 26).  Retrieved December 2, 2021, from

MLA Format

"Chakras, Yoga, Meditation, and Healthy Living."  26 May 2015.  Web.  2 December 2021. <>.

Chicago Style

"Chakras, Yoga, Meditation, and Healthy Living."  May 26, 2015.  Accessed December 2, 2021.